Tags

, , , ,

My wife and I were talking the other day before I had to go to work. We were just chit-chatting about our day when she said “I wish you could stay home today”.

This is something my wife regularly says to me before I go to work. We are not one of those couples that cannot wait to get away from each other because of kids or conflicting personalities.

My usual response to this is “I know, I wish I could too”. We usually just kiss and I leave for work. As I said before, this happens often but my mindset has changed of late. I am no longer happy with the idea of a corporate future and something occurred to me that I just had to laugh to myself with how crazy it sounded.

Almost all people that work for a corporate entity or really any job for that matter, has to ask someone else for freedom.

Now I know what you may be thinking “that is rather dramatic of you to say” and I know, it kind of is but that makes it no less true.

If I want to have a day off during the business week. I have to ask permission from someone else to do so. Whether to check for others who have the day off or that ever present imaginary number that floats over all workers heads called “vacation time” someone else has to give the OK in order for me to take a day off with my family.

I understand that people cannot expect to work and just take days off willy-nilly. I get that. But we, as humans, allow someone else to control our weekly freedom and that idea boggles my mind.

Just the idea of that concept pushes me to continue with my writing and freelance work.

The goal to someday be working. Look up from my computer and say to myself “I think I am going to take a break” then walk out of the room to tackle my daughter and roll around in a ticklish heap. This is the life that I strive for.

A life that requires no one but myself to dictate its freedom. Where you can do something you love and live off of it.

Not just live in the sense of financial stability but to really live.

I have always said that I do not want to be one of the people that lives to work but who works to live and I have lost sight of that over the past couple years and it is refreshing to be in a mental state where I can think of these constrictions and laugh at their absurdity, instead of blindly accepting that it is just a matter of course. That it is just the way things are.

Because the truth is. That is not just the way things are. It is the way you accept things to be. You make your own reality. No one else does.

So if you work in corporate America. Look around yourself.

Take a moment to soak in your surroundings and what you are doing and ask yourself.

Is this the reality that I envisioned for myself?

