Tags

, , , ,

I have talked a bit about my fears. I have talked a bit about what causes them.

But I have not touched on what changed my mind.

It turns out, that all I needed to do to take the plunge and start writing again was purpose.

I found my purpose for writing was in my face the whole time. Now, I am not going to go into a story of how my purpose is me and blah, blah, blah.

Ultimately, when one wants to be a writer, one wants to get paid for it eventually and that is not a bad thing.

But that is not purpose. That is not something that really drives me to put thought down on paper.

What drove me to finally start writing again is audience and that audience is my wife.

Now I am not writing this article to get brownie points from my wife who invariably reads this blog (although, it couldn’t hurt) but when you are writing for the pleasure of one person, the mountain of indecision you are facing is remarkably small.

Stephen King goes in depth on this topic in his book “On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft” where he also writes specifically for his wife and when you come down to it, he would not be where he is today if it was not for his wife pulling the unfinished manuscript for Carrie out of the trash.

My wife and I share similar interests. We read the same books. We enjoy the same comics. We play the same games, board and otherwise.

So when I write, I write for her enjoyment. She is my greatest uplifting fan and my most devastating critic. So I know that if I write something she enjoys, than I did well and I feel more comfortable with others reading what I have done.

I am comfortable with showcasing my work because I have already impressed the person I was looking to impress. Everyone else enjoying it is just a perk.

I am describing this to you because I think everyone has this person somewhere in their life. Whether it is a spouse, parent, friend or mentor, you can find someone to be your audience of one.

So next time you get the itch to write a chapter or a short story or even and article you wish to post to a site. Think about the person whose criticism means most to you. Whose entertainment from your writing makes you feel the best and write for that person and that person alone and see how it changes your perception.

Let me know how this works for you and share this post with others you may feel that this method would help. I know it has helped me tremendously.

P.S. I cannot stress enough how amazing “On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King” is. I highly recommend it to all aspiring writers in any genre. It is a fantastic, no B.S. book on writing and methodology that really helped me re-evaluate the way I looked at the craft of writing.

